Sunday League over Non-League – What has happened?

I have consistently played non-league football for 13, almost 14 years straight now. During that time, I haven’t even spent half as much playing Sunday league – for various reasons. But why now is playing Sunday league becoming such a big thing for so many semi-professional players?

For me, and many others, the answer is simple – E N J O Y M E N T.

Would you happily go somewhere you didn’t enjoy? On top of that, would you happily go somewhere you know there is a chance that after a 3….maybe even 4…. or sometimes even an 8 hour round trip, you may only get used for 10 minutes as a sub?

Would you risk injuring yourself for no financial gain and people you don’t care about?

The answer is simple – of course you wouldn’t.

Last Season

On Sundays (Kenningwell United FC) I play with and for my brothers. We go to war together on the pitch, then we eat, might have a drink, chill and catch good vibes afterwards – many of us meet outside of football too. It’s how a good club should be, regardless of the day.

Understandably, now on Saturdays many non-league players responsibilities and priorities differ and not all players are going to their games with the same buzz and excitement of playing and seeing ‘their people’ as such. To some, at times it can genuinely feel like a part-time job.

Now to be clear – I for one would never to shy away from admitting that I have had periods in my life where I have as much needed rather then wanted to play to keep myself afloat – regardless I have always been as professional as I could. I LOVE the game, and doubt I’d ever stop loving it – though life is a real thing, and can get in the way of that crazy ‘love’ we have for the game.

The words Politics and Non-League are never too far away from each other. Though now it seems the same thing is starting to happen in regards to Sunday league too. Some managers/clubs are not happy with their players playing on Sundays and for me it’s only going to get worse. The sudden growth of Sunday league is no shock because to me, it’s not spoken on enough how important enjoyment is when playing – regardless of the level.

In my opinion – a Saturday manager can rightfully have a major problem is if the player in question is on contract, because that is legally not allowed – but for non contracted players, (which in non league is most) what they choose to do on a day to day is ultimately their choice. Yes we play non-league, but most do still work a full time job – and imagine our jobs attempting to dictate what we could do with our weekends? It wouldn’t happen, simple.

Having good memories are important in any aspect of life. So if players have the chance to do this with people they have played with for a long time, grown up with or have a good relationship on and off the field, then why would they not?

Every player has a different story as to what they want to get out of football, and all will be at different stages of their careers – though equally EVERY player that steps on to any field wants to win things and enjoy games of football.

At this point, it seems Sunday football is providing just that for many players, and personally, I think it’s an amazing thing to see. LET THE PLAYERS PLAY!

#MC9

One thought on “Sunday League over Non-League – What has happened?

Leave a comment